Waiting for ICS

opera blog

I love Honeycomb. It was the first break away from the typical android ui.. its sleek, responsive..

Its a good change from the Froyo on my phone and Gingerbread i see on other devices.. My only major issue with it is the lack of app2sd support 😦 which means that my Iconia A500 can oly use the SD card for media files..comics..etc.

The update to Ice Cream Sandwich is supposed to change that(i've heard unconfirmed rumors).

Hence the eager wait for the update. Acer had first announced(second quarter 2011) that the Iconia A500 would hget the update in Jan 2012.. thats when i started waiting for it.. then january came and went and then february.. and then there was a honeycom 3.2 update that got my hopes up.. but no ICS.

About a month back, while updating other acer apps(bloatware) it automatically installed an app called the ICONIA TAB Update Enhancement get it here

This was meant to facilitate the ICS update. And then there was the announcement that everyone would get the update on April 27th.. and a lot of people did get it on that date! but not me.. or the few iconia users i know here in bangalore.

There is a manual update option using the update files that a resourceful user has posted over at XDA Forums here basically you need to

1) rename the file as : update.zip
2) place the file on the micro sd card
3) turn off the tablet
4) press the down volume key and the power button at the same time untill the tablets turns on
5) the iconia will start the upgrade process by itself.

I'm really tempted to do it myself.. lets see..
I just might today.

UPDATE:
I did it. details here
I now have ICS on my acer iconia

Leave a Reply

